The Fellowship is an important investment in developing and nurturing the talents of local creatives and enhancing global awareness of Australia’s vibrant First Nations filmmaking talent.

Upon accepting her award, Bracknell said, “I’m very pleased and celebratory about being the recipient today.  I thank the wonderful Sydney Film Festival, who are so warm and engaging, from the staff to the Board and to Deutsche Bank, of course.”

“In speaking about country, this Fellowship is going to support me massively, to be a part of the wonderful project next year The Great Emu War, which I am co-producing with Rob Kershaw. It is about country and turning the tables on imperialism. So I think it’s quite an apt project for me to partake in.”

“I am just incredibly grateful that many trailblazers before me including my grandparents and family have been incredible human beings and so wonderful to enable me to speak the way I do, and represent the way that I do, and I am sure that they are proud. Some of them aren’t here anymore, so that’s why I say it in that manner. I thank you all for your warmth and congratulations for me being the recipient this year. Thank you,” she said.

Glenn Morgan, Deutsche Bank Australia’s CEO, said “Congratulations to Kylie for winning the Fellowship for 2022. Watching Darlene use the 2021 Fellowship to get valuable director/producer attachment experience on the mini-series Savage River and start to plan a feature-film version of her short-film “Bluey” has been wonderful. We can’t wait to see Kylie further develop her remarkable artistic craft and continue to be a role model for First Nations Creatives.”


Official Competition/Sydney Film Prize:

Documentary Australia Award:
Keep Stepping

Sustainable Future Award:

Deutsche Bank Fellowship for First Nations Film Creatives recipient:
Kylie Bracknell

Sydney-UNSECO City of Film Award:
Caitlin Yeo

Dendy Short Film Awards:

AFTRS Craft Award – Donkey

Yoram Gross Animation Award – Donkey

Dendy Live Action Short Award – The Moths Will Eat Them Up

Rouben Mamoulian Award for Best Director – The Moths Will Eat Them Up