By Travis Johnson

While rumblings continue over the fact that only three of the 18 directors in competition at Cannes this year are women, the venerable festival yesterday announced that the 2018 jury will be mostly women, under the presidency of Australian actress Cate Blanchett.

Blanchett is one of five women who will serve on the nine-person jury, being joined by filmmaker Ava DuVernay (A Wrinkle in Time), actresses Lea Seydoux (Farewell My Queen, Blue is the Warmest Colour) and Kristen Stewart (Twilight, Clouds of Sils Maria), and Burundian musical artist Khadja Nin.

The jury is rounded out by Chinese actor Chang Chen (Happy Together, The Assassin), Canadian director Denis Villeneuve (Blade Runner 2049, Sicario), Russian director Andrey Zvyagintsev (Leviathan, Loveless), and French filmmaker Robert Guédiguian (The Army of Crime, The Snows of Kilimanjaro).

The Cannes Film Festival runs from May 8 – 19.



Leave a Reply