By Travis Johnson

Acclaimed Australian film director, producer and screenwriter, Scott Hicks, will chair the jury at the 10th CinefestOz Festival in August. Along with the yet-to-be-announced Jury, Hicks will be responsible for adjudicating the $100,000 CinefestOz prize, renowned as Australia’s richest film prize.

Last year the prize went to the Adelaide-made Girl Asleep, directed by Rosemary Myers.

Hicks remains best known for Shine, his biopic of pianist David Helfgott, which was nominated for seven Oscars, including Best Director and Best Original Screenplay, with Geoffrey Rush winning Best Actor. His other works include Snow Falling on Cedars. starring Ethan Hawke;  Stephen King adaptation Hearts in Atlantis, starring Anthony Hopkins; No Reservations starring Catherine Zeta-Jones; The Boys are Back, starring Clive Owen; and The Lucky One, starring Zac Efron.

Hicks said of the appointment, “I’m honoured to be involved in the 10th anniversary of prestigious film festival, CinefestOZ. The $100,000 film prize is of major significance and will provide a tremendous boost to the career of the winner.”

Festival Chair, Helen Shervington, said “Scott Hicks has carved out a stellar career in Australia and internationally and we are delighted to have such a respected Australian director head up our Jury this year. The Festival is a wonderful opportunity for the industry and wider community to come together in the spectacular South West region and enjoy and celebrate Australian film.”

CinefestOz 2017 runs in Busselton, Western Australia, and environs from August 23 – 27, with the full program being announced on July 28, and early bird tickets available from July 7. For more info, hit up the official site.


Leave a Reply