The AWGIE Award Nominations Are In

June 20, 2017
Hounds of Love and Hacksaw Ridge are competing for the Original Feature Film gong.

Debut feature screenwriter Ben Young and veteran scribes Andrew Knight and Robert Schenkkan are going head to head in the Feature Film – Original category at the AWGIE Awards, with the former’s Hounds of Love and the latter’s Hacksaw Ridge nominated this year.

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the Australian Writers Guild, with the awards taking place on August 25 in Sydney. Nominees across 19 categories will be lauded at the ceremony, which was inaurgurated in 1968 to acknowledge the contributions of Australian screen and stage writers to our shared culture.

Category winners are eligible for the Major Award for most outstanding script of the year, potentially joining such past winners as The Code, The Water Diviner, The Sapphires, Animal Kingdom, and Cloud Street. Theatre scribes are also up for the David Willliamson Prize, which last went to The Bleeding Tree writer Angus Cerini.

For more info, including the full list of nominees, head over to the AWG official site.


Leave a Comment