The Festival Award winners for 2022 were announced on the final day of the festival, Sunday 5 June, and include:

Baltasar [pictured], directed by Brietta Hague and produced by Estela Rasal and Gala Gracia, was awarded the prestigious Best Short Film and took home the cash prize of $10,000, courtesy of City of Port Phillip. The film is a Spanish-Australian co-production about a Senegalese man’s diligent attempts to make ends meet in a new land.

Director Brietta Hague took home Best Director and Best Achievement in Screenplay for Baltasar.

The Craft Award was awarded to Freedom Swimmer, directed by Olivia Martin-McGuire and produced by Brooke Silcox and Ron Dyens, receiving a $2,000 cash prize sponsored by VicScreen.

Best Documentary went to Inferno, directed and produced by Samuel Rodwell, taking home $1,000. Samuel Rodwell took home Best Achievement in Sound Post-Production for Inferno.

The Better Angels, directed by Michael Cusack and produced by Richard Chataway, was awarded Best Animation, winning a one-on-one masterclass with one of JMC’s industry specialist lecturers.

Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking was awarded to Bunker: The Last Fleet, directed and produced by Rowan Pullen and Stephen Potter. The award was sponsored by Post Lab, with a $1,000 cash prize.

The St Kilda Film Festival’s industry professional judging panel consisted of Emma Bortignon, Johanna Kelly, and Pauline Clague. Bortignon stated: ”It was an absolute pleasure to be a judge for the 2022 St Kilda Film Festival with fellow judges and legends Pauline Clauge and Joh Kelly. Listening, watching and experiencing the entries was thrilling, and we had loads of excellent discussions while drilling down to the winners”.

“On behalf of the judges who viewed all the films for this year’s event, it’s my enormous pleasure to congratulate the nominees and winners of this year’s festival” said St Kilda Festival Director, Richard Sowada. “We congratulate all the filmmakers across the entire festival and the hundreds who entered. It takes a lot of heart and passion to put your ideas into the public arena, and we acknowledge the trust they put in us to look after their hard work.”
SKFF is supported by major government partners Screen Australia and VicScreen.

Now in its 39th year St Kilda Film Festival (SKFF) returned to the big screen across Friday 27 May – Sunday 5 June 2022. SKFF is Australia’s longest-running short film festival, recognising the genre of short film, including music videos, gaming and immersive forms, celebrating some of Australia’s best local short filmmakers and screen artists.

Full list of award winners:
1. Best Original Score Supported by House of Marley
• Joseph Franklin (Mourning Country)
• Madeleine Cocolas (The Moths Will Eat Them Up)
• Sean Timms (The Better Angels)
• Jackson Mico Milas (Giants)

Winner: Jackson Mico Milas (Giants)

2. Best Achievement in Sound Post-Production Supported by Music & Effects and the Australian Screen Sound Guild
• Jennifer Leonforte (The Moths Will Eat Them Up)
• Anonymous (Freedom Swimmer)
• Doron Kipen & Jennifer Aldred (Nest)
• Samuel Rodwell (Inferno)

Winner: Samuel Rodwell (Inferno)

3. Best Achievement in Editing Supported by Roar Digital and Adobe
• Raymond Evans (Mars)
• Ryan de Rooy (There’s Someone Here)
• Veronica Buhagiar (Farmers)
• Stig Wemyss (Hatchback)

Winner: Raymond Evans (Mars)

4. Best Achievement in Screenplay Supported by the Australian Writers’ Guild and Cinema Nova
• Brietta Hague (Baltasar)
• Joel Kohn (The Mirror)
• Tony Radevski (Risen)
• Madeleine Gottlieb (You and Me Before and After)

Winner: Brietta Hague (Baltasar)

5. Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking Supported by Post Lab IO
• Bunker: The Last Fleet
• Shiny One
• Tooly
• Finding Jedda

Winner: Bunker: The Last Fleet

6. Best Achievement in Cinematography Supported by the Australian Cinematographers Society and Blackmagic Design
• Robby Piantanida (Miss Underwater)
• Kieran Fowler (Giants)
• Samuel Rodwell (Inferno)
• Ellery Ryan ACS (Amissa Anima)

Winner: Kieran Fowler (Giants)

7. Best Young Actor Supported by Profile Creative
• Riley Stiles (Amissa Anima)
• Maya Robinson (Alba)
• Winta McGrath (Risen)
• Ingrid Torelli (The Mirror)

Winner: Ingrid Torelli (The Mirror)

8. Best Actor Supported by Chameleon Casting
• Scott Johnson (Alba)
• Ras Samuel Welda’abzgi (BLVCK GOLD)
• Ling Cooper Tang (The Moths Will Eat Them Up)
• Yael Stone and Emily Barclay (You and Me Before and After)

Winner: Yael Stone and Emily Barclay (You and Me Before and After)

9. Best Animation Supported by JMC Academy
• Bleue’s Breath
• The Better Angels
• Freedom Swimmer
• Forgotten

Winner: The Better Angels

10. Best Documentary Supported by Shaun Miller Lawyers
• Betty and Bushy
• Acts for the Invisible
• Freedom Swimmer
• Inferno

Winner: Inferno

11. Best Director Supported by the Australian Directors’
• Tony Radevski (Risen)
• Brietta Hague (Baltasar)
• Eddy Bell (Giants)
• Raymond J Evans (Mars)

Winner: Brietta Hague (Baltasar)

12. Craft Award Supported by VicScreen
• Freedom Swimmer
• Bleue’s Breath
• Bunker: The Last Fleet
• Miss Underwater

Winner: Freedom Swimmer

13. Best Short Film Award Supported by City of Port Phillip
• Baltasar
• The Better Angels
• The Mirror
• Mars
• Freedom Swimmer

Winner: Baltasar

14. Under the Radar – Best Youth Short Film Supported by City of Port Phillip
• Blue Belt
• Before We’re Gone (RUNNER UP)
• Reflexions
• Various shades of off-white

Winner: Blue Belt (director Liam Harrington)