By Travis Johnson

Having wrapped up its 2016 season with the closing night film, The Greasy Strangler, renowned genre showcase Monster Fest set to rewarding the finest and foulest of this year’s roster, as decided by the jury: Fantastic Fest head programmer Evrim Ersoy, filmmaker Donna McRae, and critic Simon Foster.

French/Belgian cannibal drama Raw took out the coveted Golden Monster, with director Julia Ducournau attending to collect the prize in person. Juror McRae observed, “Raw is a tour de force of invention, innovation and storytelling, a film that celebrates appetite and difference.” Raw was also commended for its special effects work, winning the top gong in that category.

Meanwhile, Barbara Creed (author of the seminal book The Monstrous-Feminine), filmmaker Heidi Lee Douglas and visiting television scholar Amanda Reyes handed the top short film prizes to André Øvredal’s The Tunnel (Best International), Kristy Guevara-Flanagan’s documentary short What Happened to Her (Best Documentary) and Kiefer Findlow’s Insomnolence (Best Australian). The Trasharama Program Golden Lomax Award went to to Finnish director Chrzu Lindstrom’s The Contract, and the Encouragement Award to Australian filmmaker Frank Daft for Blown Away.
Here’s the full list of accolades:


Golden Monster: Raw (Julia Ducournau, France)
Best International Feature: The Autopsy of Jane Doe (André Øvredal, USA)
Best Australian Feature: Safe Neighbourhood (Chris Peckover, Australia)
Monster Innovation Award: Prevenge (Alice Lowe, UK)
Best Performance (Male): Levi Miller, Safe Neighbourhood (Chris Peckover, Australia)
Best Performance (Female): Mackenzie Davis, Always Shine (Sophia Takal, USA)
Best Documentary: Sympathy for the Devil: The True Story of the Process Church of the Final Judgement (Neil Edwards, UK)
Best Director: Playground (Bartosz M. Kowalsi, Poland)
Best Cinematography: A Dark Song (Liam Gavin, Ireland/UK)
Best Score: A Dark Song (Liam Gavin, Ireland/UK)
Best FX: Raw (Julia Ducournau, France)
Special Mention: Autohead (Rohit Mittal, India)

Best International Short: The Tunnel (André Øvredal, Norway)
Best Australian Short: Insomnolence (Kiefer Findlow, Australia)
Best Victorian Short: Secretions (Goran Spoljaric, Australia)
Best Director: What Happened to Her (Kristy Guevara-Flanagan, USA)
Best Screenplay: The Incredible Tale of the Incredible Woman-Spider (Pablo Guirado, France)
Best Performance: Najarra Townsend, The Stylist (Jill Gevargizian, USA)
Best Effects: The Past Inside the Present (James Siewert, USA)
Best Cinematography: Disco Inferno (Alice Waddington, Spain)
Best Score: Imitations (Fabian Velasco & Milos Mitrovic, Canada)


Best Villain: O Christmas Tree (Greg Kovacs, Canada)
Best Animation: The Itching (Diane Bellino, USA)
Honorable Mention for short we’d like to see made into a feature: Dawn of the Deaf (Rob Savage, UK)


Trasharama Golden Lomax Award: The Contract (Chrzu Lindstrom, Finland)
Trasharama Encouragement Award: Blown Away (Frank Daft, Australia)


Best Feature: Mondo Yakuza (Addison Heath, Australia)
Best Short: Tie: Dragon Force (Stuart Simpson, Australia) / A Hell of a Day(Evan Hughes, Australia)


Leave a Reply