Heath Ledger

Australians in Film Heath Ledger Scholarship Finalists Announced

May 5, 2017
Talent from Cleverman, Eaglehawk, Hounds of Love, and more will compete for the 2017 scholarship.

The 10 2017 AiF Heath Ledger Scholarship finalists were announced this week following the Los Angeles premiere of the new documentary, I Am Heath Ledger.

Established in 2008 in memory of the late Ledger, the annual prize provides an emerging Australian actor aged between 18-35 years funding and assistance to develop their skills and career on the international stage.

Last year’s winner, Ashleigh Cummings, can be seen in Pork Pie and the soon-to-be-released Hounds of Love.

“Winning the Heath Ledger Scholarship has sowed such fertile soil for my growth in LA,” Cummings said. ” Not only do I gain access to classes and resources from which I can expand my craft, but I receive a recognition in rooms that would have otherwise taken a lot longer to build, and I am surrounded by the most supportive and loving community at AiF.”

This year’s finalists are:

Dakota Shapiro (Daddy Issues, Arbiter Teaser)

Daniel Monks (Go Happy Feet!, Bodies, Marley)

Hunter Page-Lochard (Cleverman, Wentworth, The Sapphires)

Mitzi Ruhlmann (Killing Ground, Boys in The Trees, Dance Academy)

Mojean Aria (Suitcase, Aban & Khorshid, Double Take)

Morgan Griffin (Bad Blood, San Andreas, Unbroken)

Ratidzo Mambo (Glee, Moms, Blind Rage)

Sam Delich (Gallipoli: The Power of Ten)

Shalom Brune-Franklin (Thor: Ragnarok, Our Girl)

Tilda Cobham-Harvey (Things I Know To Be True, EagleHawk, Barracuda).

The winner will be announced on June 1, after deliberation by a panel consisting of  Naomi Watts (Allegiant, Insurgent, Birdman), Ryan Murphy (Glee, American Horror Story,) Gary Oldman (The Dark Knight Rises, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy), Bruna Papandrea (Big Little Lies, Wilde, Gone Girl), Kimberly Peirce (Carrie, Boys Don’t Cry), Emile Sherman (Lion, The King’s Speech), Jacqueline McKenzie (Romper Stomper, The Water Diviner), Gregor Jordan (Two Hands, Unthinkable) and Ronna Kress (Mad Max: Fury Road, The Fault in Our Stars, Deadpool).

Best of luck to all.


Leave a Comment