Lee Lin Chin and David Wenham to Host the Asia Pacific Screen Awards

November 13, 2017
Representatives and creators from 15 countries will attend the awards.

Notable Australian actor and director David Wenham will once again host the Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) this year, being joined by the face of SBS World News, Lee Lin Chin. The awards  will take place on Thursday November 23, at the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre, and livestreamed at asiapacificscreenawards.com.

Other guests scheduled to appear include APSA Academy President Jack Thompson; the APSA jury, including Academy Award-nominated film editor Jill Bilcock (Moulin Rouge!, Elizabeth, Muriel’s Wedding, Strictly Ballroom), Filipino writer/director Adolfo Alix Jr (Donsol, Tambolista), Chinese actress He Saifei (Lust, Caution; Raise the Red Lantern), Tokyo Film Festival Programmer Yoshi Yatabe and Kazakh writer, director and cinematographer Adilkhan Yerzhanov (The Owners, The Plague at the Karatas Village); and the APSA Youth, Animation and Documentary International Jury: Saudi Arabian director Haifaa Al Mansour (Mary Shelley, Wadjda), Australian producer Melanie Coombs (Mary & Max, The Death and Life of Otto Bloom), and British producer Steve Abbott (A Fish Called Wanda, Brazil with Michael Palin).

Nominees attending include Palestinian actor Mohammad Bakri for Wajib (Duty), Iranian actor Navid Mohammadzadeh for No Date, No Signature (Bedoune Tarikh, Bedoune Emza)  Indian star Rajkummar Rao and  screenwriter Mayank Tewari for Newton, Indonesian actress Cut Mini for Emma (Mother), Georgian actress Nata Murvanidze and director Ana Urushadze for Scary Mother (Sashishi Deda), Indian director Sanal Kumar Sasidharan for Sexy Durga, and many more.

For the full list of attendees, head over to the official site.

Leave a Comment