Hannah Gadsby, Keiynan Lonsdale, Eliza Scanlen and Damon Herriman to receive AiF Awards

September 27, 2018
Oscar winners, editor Lee Smith and producer Mark Johnson will also be recognised.

Australians in Film, an LA-based organisation that offers support and promotion of Australian talent in the US, has just announced their honourees for 2018, which include actor/performers Damon Herriman, Keiynan Lonsdale, Eliza Scanlen, and so-hot-right-now Hannah Gadsby, who will receive the Create NSW Annette Kellerman Award.

“There is no mystery to how I came to be the recipient of the Annette Kellerman Award, I love neck to knee swimwear, I excelled at synchronised swimming (individual category) and Annette is an anagram of Nanette – like everything in Hollywood it is about connections,” Gadsby said, referring to her Netflix special that has gone gangbusters.

“I’m incredibly humbled to be the recipient of the 2018 Qantas Orry-Kelly Award,” said Damon Herriman, fresh off his recently announced casting as Charles Manson in Quentin Tarantino’s Once Upon a Time in Hollywood. “When I look at the previous recipients [Tim Minchin, producer Bruna Papandrea, directors Baz Luhrmann and John Polson, and filmmaking collective, BlueTongue Films] I feel even more so. Thank you to Australians in Film for this wonderful honour. Having experienced Los Angeles before AiF, I can say that the place is infinitely better with them around.”

Keiynan Lonsdale (CW’s The Flash, Love, Simon and Insurgent) and Eliza Scanlen (Sharp Objects, upcoming Little Women) will each be honoured with the Screen Australia Breakthrough Award.

“I hope it can inspire kids back home (particularly in Western Sydney) to know their dreams can break barriers, and they can find themselves a beautiful part of the film industry,” said Lonsdale.

The behind the scenes talent being honoured this year is editor Lee Smith (Dunkirk, Inception) with a Fox Studios International Award, whilst American producer Mark Johnson (Rain Man, Breaking Bad) will receive the Ausfilm International Award for his contribution to the Australian film industry, which recently did in earnest with Simon Baker’s directorial debut Breath.

The 7th annual Australians in Film Awards is a fundraising event being held at Paramount Pictures Studios on October 24, with Josh Lawson hosting.

Head here for more on Australians in Film.

Leave a Comment