AACTA Announces “Meet the Nominees” Events Ahead of 2017 Awards

November 14, 2017
This year's top film bods will share their secrets in a series of panels across two days.

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts has announced the first names for its series of Meet the Nominees events.

Presented by AFTRS and co-hosted with screen guilds and societies, the series will provide the chance for members of the public to hear from screen practitioners nominated in the upcoming 7th AACTA Awards. The six events – The Cinematographers, The Directors, Th Editors, Sound, and the Writers – will take place at the  AFTRS Theatre in Sydney on Sunday, December 3, and Tuesday, December 5, 2017.

Directors currently scheduled include Jeffrey Walker (Ali’s Wedding), Ben Young (Hounds of Love) and Glendyn Ivin (Seven Types of Ambiguity).

Writers ready to share their insights include Luke Davies (Lion), Shaun Grant (Berlin Syndrome, Jasper Jones), two-time Jacquelin Perske (Seven Types of Ambiguity), James Greville (Don’t Tell), and Priscilla Cameron (The Butterfly Tree).

Editor Alexandre de Franceschi (Lion) has also been announced, along with cinematographers Germain McMicking (Top of the Lake: China Girl); Jon Shaw (Blue); and Nick Meyers (Australia Day).

Neil Peplow, CEO of AFTRS said, “We’re thrilled to be partnering with AACTA again to present the 2017 Meet the Nominees events; this is an exclusive opportunity to hear the best of Australian film, television and documentary makers give insights into how they approach their craft.”

Attendance is complimentary for members of AFI, AACTA, and Guild members.

Leave a Comment