Miss Fisher Feature Film Soundtrack Releasing Feb 21

January 29, 2020

miss fisher

Miss Fisher Feature Film Soundtrack Releasing Feb 21


This February 21 sees the release of the original motion picture soundtrack by Australian Greg J. Walker for Miss Fisher and the Crypt of Tears – the highly anticipated feature spin-off from the  best-selling books penned by Kerry Greenwood and the ABC TV series Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, a bona fide global sensation, viewed in 179 countries around the world.

Part action adventure, part murder mystery, the feature film sees the fabulous lady detective Miss Phyrne Fisher head to Jerusalem to continue to fight injustice and oppression in high style.

Greg J. Walker was responsible for the score of the original TV series, which routinely garnered audiences of more than one million Australians each week. Musically transporting the glamorous Miss Fisher to the big screen has been an epic journey in itself for the acclaimed  musician and composer.  Where the series welcomed the more intimate sounds of chamber quartets, banjos and honkytonk pianos, the film required a scaled-up orchestral score and a new raft of exotic instruments to match the escapades on screen. Walker used Lawrence of Arabia and the Indiana Jones movies as key musical references, as well as the raw, cheeky spirit of the 1920s, where Miss Fisher’s international escapades take place.

Greg J. Walker: “ I had to, in some ways, start from scratch and get out of my comfort zone, there was a long period of searching for the right musical keys to unlock this one. With  my previous scores I  tended to do most of the performing as well as scoring (I play a lot of instruments including strings, keyboards, percussion and clarinet). For the Crypt Of Tears  I concentrated on the scoring role and brought in a lot more musicians, creating spaces where things like the middle eastern instruments could really shine.”

Melbourne’s Impossible Orchestra, with the aid of conductor Brett Kelly and copyist/arranger Amelia Barden, bring the formal compositions to vivid life, while instrumentalists Paddy Montgomery (Oud), Phil Carrol (Ney) and Dayna Roberts (violin) give the score improvised flashes of Middle Eastern flair and mystery. As well as a large orchestral recording session at Melbourne’s Recital Centre, several smaller sessions held in Walker’s local South Gippsland hall captured with great richness the skills of local string players and the wonderful Ladychoir who Walker worked with without a score to pull the choral parts together.

Said Walker: “There was a lot of to-and-fro’ing with director Tony Tilse and producer Fiona Eagger  to find the best musical solutions for some complex scenes where the emotions might turn from action to tension to humour to romance in the space of 30 seconds – always a challenge for us composers – but ultimately I feel the score has a real personality to it while functioning as it needs to do. I’m always trying to find personality and a bit of quirkiness in the Miss Fisher music because I want it to add to that bit of fun and rawness and capture the spirit that was such a feature of the 1920’s as a cultural era.”

Based in lush South Gippsland, Greg J Walker is a composer, recording artist, arranger and producer who divides his work between screen composition and album production. Walker’s screen credits include the TV biopics Hoges for FremantleMedia/Seven Network and Molly for Mushroom Pictures/Seven Network, as well as three seasons of Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries and Newton’s Law, both for Every Cloud Productions/ABC. Walker is also the singer/songwriter and multi-instrumentalist behind Machine Translations, an independent band who have self-produced a number of critically acclaimed albums, and he has produced award-winning albums for the likes of Paul Kelly, Jen Cloher and CW Stoneking. For the Miss Fisher and the Crypt of Tears soundtrack, Walker produced and mixed the soundtrack, sharing engineering duties with Ross Cockle and Robin Waters.

Miss Fisher and the Crypt of Tears releases nationally on February 27. The soundtrack is available February 21 on major digital platforms.

21 Feb ·
 Album release, on all digital platforms
27 Feb· Miss Fisher and the Crypt of Tears releases nationally