July 26, 2016

The IFFM AwardsŸ will be held Friday 12 August, at the ŸMelbourne Recital Centre


The IFFM AwardsŸ will be held Friday 12 August, at the ŸMelbourne Recital Centre


The 2016 Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM), the southern hemisphere’s greatest annual celebration of Indian cinema, is delighted to reveal the nominees for the Westpac Indian Film Festival of Melbourne Awards (IFFM Awards), the first and most prestigious Indian cinema awards of their kind in Australia. A jury panel of Indian and Australian film legends and experts including producer Sue Maslin, screenwriter Andrew Anastasios, editor Jill Bilcock, screen star Simi Garewal, director Paul Ireland and leading Indian critic Rajeev Masand will honour winners in five categories.

IFFM Director Mitu Bhowmick Lange said: “This year’s nominees reflect the strength and diversity of contemporary Indian film culture. We are delighted to have so many of the industry’s talented stars and directors attending this year’s awards and proud to welcome Westpac as the new naming sponsor of the Awards,” she said.

Bernadette Inglis, Westpac’s General Manager for Retail and Premium Bank, said Westpac is excited to begin a three-year partnership with the Indian Film Festival to celebrate multiculturalism and diversity in the Australian community.

“This new sponsorship is aligned with our broad approach to diversity and inclusion which helps our customers, communities and people to prosper and grow. Our support of these vibrant and talented artists is testament to our longstanding relationship with our multicultural customers, and our world-class service that helps people to build a fulfilling and prosperous life in Australia.”

The IFFM Award winners will be announced at a red carpet gala event on Friday 12 August at the Melbourne Recital Centre, with a suite of Indian stars and industry leaders in attendance. In addition, IFFM will present the 2016 ‘Excellence in Cinema’ Award to one of Bollywood’s most versatile and beloved screen legends, Rishi Kapoor, who is a special guest of IFFM 2016. Previous winners include Amitabh Bachchan and Anil Kapoor.

Equality, diversity and inclusion are guiding lights of the Indian Film Festival of Melbourne and this year we are delighted to present the inaugural IFFM Equality Award to Festival guest, Pakistani actor Fawad Khan, who has played an extraordinary role as ambassador between India and Pakistan throughout his career.

Adding to an already unforgettable night of glamour, song and dance, the IFFM Awards feature the Empowerment Concert, a series of musical performances with performances from renowned Pakistani singer-songwriter Sara Haider, award-winning Indian singer Shalmali Kholgade, and SUZANNE D’MELLO MISQUITTA best known to Australian audiences for her performance in Slumdog Millionaire.

The 2016 IFFM Award nominees are as follows:

Best Actor

Ranveer Singh – Bajirao Mastani

Manoj Bajpai – Aligargh

Shah Rukh Khan – FAN

Nawazuddin Siddiqui – Raman Raghav 2.0

Best Actress

Sonam Kapoor – Neerja

Deepika Padukone – Bajirao Mastani

Radhika Apte – Parched

Rituparna Sengupta – Rajhakini

Best Director

Ram Madhvani – Neerja

Shakun Batra – Kapoor and Sons

Leena Yadav – Parched

Sanjay Leela Bhansali – Bajirao Mastani

Best Film


Kapoor and Sons

Bajirao Mastani

Raman Raqhav

Best Independent Film





Angry Indian Goddesses


The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne runs from Thursday 11 to Sunday 21 August. The IFFM Awards Night and Empowerment Concert takes place on Friday 12 August, 7:30pm Melbourne Recital Centre. For bookings and program information go to www.iffm.com.au